• General Lead Mentor Information:
    A lead mentor is assigned at each school by the principal.  The lead mentor facilitates the school-level support program for beginning teachers and mentors.  Please refer to the ABSS Lead Mentor Role for a detailed description of lead mentor roles and responsibilities.

    Lead mentors are compensated based on the number of BT1s and BT2s at the school.  Information regarding the monthly stipend for lead mentors will be sent to lead mentors in September.  Lead mentor pay will begin in October (for work completed in August and September) and end in May (for work completed in April and May/June).
    Upcoming Lead Mentor Meetings:
    Wednesday, Aug. 22, 2018, 2:30-4:00
    Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019, 4:00-5:00
    Tuesday, May 7, 2019, 4:00-5:00
    **All meetings will be in the Professional Library
    The Beginning Teacher Support Program would like to recognize our Lead Mentors for their leadership. These teachers collaborate frequently with mentors and beginning teachers to provide support needed as we focus on powerful teaching and learning. Our lead mentors plan and facilitate professional development meetings at their schools which cover a range of topics including classroom management, parent conferences, peer observations and reflective practices. We appreciate their willingness to empower our beginning teachers to be change agents in their classrooms, schools and beyond!
    2018-2019 Lead Mentors
    Alexander Wilson Elementary -- Carole Smith
    Altamahaw-Ossipee Elementary --  Christine Naessens      
    Andrews Elementary -- Jalanda Allen 
    B. Everett Jordan Elementary -- Christine Landess
    Broadview Middle -- Michele Cochran
    CTEC -- Brodie Taylor
    Cummings High -- Sandi Burns
    E.M. Holt Elementary -- Jan Armstrong
    E.M. Yoder Elementary -- Beth Courtney
    Eastern High -- Rae Johnson
    Eastlawn Elementary -- Crystal Richmond
    Elon Elementary -- 
    Garrett Elementary -- Rachel Joseph
    Graham High -- Beth Davis
    Graham Middle -- Linda Kroger
    Grove Park Elementary -- Katie Eaton
    Hawfields Middle -- Karla Robbins
    Haw River Elementary -- Michele Claypool
    Highland Elementary -- Alexandria Swerbinsky
    Hillcrest Elementary -- Kendra Henderson
    Newlin Elementary -- Julie Rachlin
    North Graham Elementary -- Patricia Visocky
    Pleasant Grove Elementary -- Lynnetta Burton
    Ray Street Academy -- Lakecia Love
    Smith Elementary -- Dina Rieley
    South Graham Elementary -- Amy Burgess
    South Mebane Elementary -- Cara Hurdle
    Southern Alamance High -- Iris Bryant
    Southern Middle -- Christy Setliff
    Sylvan Elementary -- Heather Whitley
    Turrentine Middle -- Kellie Jackson
    Western Alamance High -- Shelly Pilversack
    Western Middle -- Pamela Jacobson
    Williams High -- Kristen Womack
    Woodlawn Middle -- Lindsay Russell

    If you have any questions, please contact:


    Dean Richardson

    Director of Teacher Recruitment and Induction

    Phone:  336-438-4000 ext. 20048

    Email:  james_richardson@abss.k12.nc.us