4/27/16 Teacher of the Year to be announced Tuesday

Teacher of the Year to be announced Tuesday
By Isaac Groves, The Times-News 4/27/16  
Reprinted with permission.      

   The 2016 Alamance-Burlington Teacher of the Year will be named at the Excellence in Education Awards Program on Tuesday — May 3, National Teacher Appreciation Day — at the Alamance County Club. Eight finalists were chosen from 38 nominees representing 36 Alamance-Burlington schools, private schools and Alamance Community College. They are:
  • Maria Gordillo-Davis, Garrett Elementary;
  • Jordan Hohm, Broadview Middle;
  • Jason Slagle, Graham Middle;
  • Sarah Farrell, Sylvan Elementary;
  • Sean Patrick Quinn, Western Alamance High;
  • Heather Collins, Ray Street Academy;
  • Cathia P. Acton, The Burlington School; and
  • Cristy Waugh, Alamance Community College.

   The winner will compete for regional and state teacher of the year. The Alamance Area Chamber of Commerce will host.